Sweet Corn Vegetable Patties

In my last post I told you about the fascination of sweet corn in monsoon here in Mumbai. I also told you about my Sweet corn cum Veg Patties dish. This recipe is an instant evening snack recipe. It can be served at a children’s party. I served it with Pudina Chutney and Sev. I also used the patties for making veg sandwiches and they turned out very well.

So below is the recipe.

Ingredients:

4 medium sized boiled potatoes

2 cup of sweet corn kernels

3 teaspoon ginger paste

½ teaspoon turmeric

1 teaspoon red chilli powder

2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoon of chopped coriander/cilantro

½ cup of finely chopped and bolied French beans (optional)

½ cup of boiled sprouts (optional)

Bread crumps for coating

Oil for frying the patties

How it is done:

Mash the boiled potatoes in a bowl. Add the sweet corn kernels, ginger paste, turmeric powder, red chilli powder, salt, coriander and boiled veggies. Mix well. At this point, taste the mixture. I have purposely avoided garlic paste. I like the gingery taste. You can add more spices as per your liking. I like to keep things simple when it comes to my food and recipes.

Earlier in the ingredients list I mentioned the veggies as optional. I added the sprouted pulses and French beans because of their availability in my fridge. You can also add other veggies like cauliflower, peas, carrots, broccoli, etc.  Adding veggies in the patties is probably the best way to make your children eat all the vegetables you want. Just remember to chop the veggies and boil them for 5-10 minutes in salted water.  Make sure all the water is drained properly from the veggies before adding them to the mixture.

Mixture of potatoes, sweet corn, coriander, french beans, sprouts and spices

Immediately start making patties. You can shape the patties as per your creativity. Just make them at least 2 centimetres thick. Make all the patties and if you feel that they are not that stiff…dont worry. Just refrigerate them for some time. Before frying the patties, coat them with bread crumps for crunchiness.

Sweet corn patties, veg patties, potato patties

Before frying the patties, coat them with bread crumps for crunchiness.

Shallow fry them in pan till golden brown.

Sweet corn patties, veg patties, potato patties

Shallow fry the patties in pan till golden brown.

Rest them on kitchen paper so that it will absorb the extra oil. Yes, I am health conscious. Serve the patties hot with pudina chutney and tomato sauce.

Sweet corn patties, veg patties, potato patties, pudina chutney

Sweet corn Patties and Pudina Chutney

I served it Sweet Corn Patties with  Pudina Chutney and Sev.  Now dont just read the recipe. Prepare it and let me know how it was. Remember your comments, likes, dislikes makes my day!!!! Keep Smiling!!!! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Sweet Corn Vegetable Patties

  1. I think you could really help me with the spices that are native to that part of the world and when to use them and what taste they give to foods. Can you tell me more about turmeric, coriander, & the differences in curries? Are some spices good in soups or chowders, and others with stir fry or sauces over rice? I would love a post about this. It would help me a lot.

  2. Pingback: Monsoon and Mumbai’s love for Sweet corn « LoveCookingFood

Leave a Reply

