Maharashtrian Special Lasun Chutney / Garlic Chutney

Garlic Chutney, lasun chutney, maharashtrian lasun chutney recipe, dry garlic chutney

Maharashtrian Special Lasun Chutney / Garlic Chutney

Thank God… Chutney is now a famous word. Otherwise god knows how I would translate it.

I think it is always good to know the original name of the recipe. In that way all of us get familiar with the name and word, some of us with the recipe…. Haha….

Today I am going to introduce you to the style of cooking I daily cook. It is the Maharashtrian Style. For Non – Indians and people who don’t know – Maharashtra is a state in India. You can probably relate it in a better way if I tell you that Mumbai, the city where world famous Slumdog Millionaire was shot, is the capital of Maharashtra.

This post is all about the Famous Maharashtrian Special …. LASUN CHUTNEY!!! Yes, you guessed it right. Lasun means Garlic. Lasun is a Marathi word. In Hindi, which is India’s National Language, it is called Lahsun. Now that everything is introduced, you probably must be thinking why this chutney is so famous in this part of the world. The answer is really simple because lasun chutney is mostly served with other famous snack which is “Batata Vada” or “Vada Pav”. Vada Pav is called Indian Burger.

Uses of Garlic Chutney at home

Coming back to our topic, lasun chutney at home can be served as a side dish for any fried snack. It adds a very garlicky taste. You can use it in sandwiches. Apart from this two uses, I also use this garlic chutney while preparing my vegetables or even in chicken dishes. Sometime I use it to finish off my dishes and for garnishing my dishes, you know instead of garnishing with just coconut, garlicy coconut adds the zing. Also there are days when I just want to eat something really simple and at that time garlic chutney adds my steamed rice and simple tempered dal combo, a much required flavor. Oh just remembering the thought of rice, dal and garlic chutney has made me hungry. And I am writing this post at 12.20am, after my dinner… 🙂

If you go by the looks, Lasun Chutney looks very exotic but it is really made from extremely humble ingredients. And of course like my earlier recipes, I am going to give you a very simple easy to make recipe.

My mother has been my major influence in cooking and this is her recipe.

Ingredients:

Dired Coconut, Garlic, Red Chilli Powder and salt to taste

½ dried coconut, grated

10 to 12 garlic cloves, peeled

1 tablespoon of red chilli powder

1 teaspoon of salt

How it is done:

Super simple. Just blend all the ingredients in a blender and voila your Garlic Chutney / Lasun Chutney is ready. Just remember the final product should look like the picture posted. It should not be finely blended. It can be stored in refrigerator up to a week.

 Lasun Chutney, Garlic Chutney, chutney

Maharashtrian Special Lasun Chutney / Garlic Chutney

Variations:

If you do not get dried coconut as shown in the picture, use approximately 1 cup of readymade dried coconut flakes. Some people fry the garlic and grated coconut in oil first. I don’t think that is necessary because coconut itself satisfies the oil content required.

P.S. : Don’t worry too much about that “punget” garlic smell, after all why on earth mouth fresheners were invented …huh?

6 thoughts on “Maharashtrian Special Lasun Chutney / Garlic Chutney

  1. I just want to tell you that I’m all new to blogging and seriously enjoyed this website. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You definitely come with tremendous posts. Bless you for sharing your website.

Leave a Reply

