Yam / Elephant Foot in Indian Style!!!

yam, suran, suranachi chi bhaji, yam sabzi, suran bhaji, surnachi bhaji, yam, suran recipe, suran chi bhaji, suran sabzi

Savoury dish of Yam / Suran in Indian Style

In many ways, I find Yam as a versatile ingredient. While most of the times in other parts of the world, yams are used to prepare dessert or sweet dishes, in India yams are used to prepare a spicy savoury dish. In South India, spicy tangy yams are served as a side dish along with fish. But it tastes equally delicious with chapatis/rotis. All over India, it is known as different names but mainly as ‘Suran’ or elephant foot, in the western part of India.

Some days back, I marinated it in tangy salty water, because sometimes it can give an itchy feeling to the throat, and then deep fried it like potato French fries. That dish turned out to be just as what I had expected. But today’s post is not about “Yam Fries”, yeah that what I called them.

Typically in my home, it’s my Mom who always cooks the yam dish. But this time I experimented with it in my way. Needless to say my Experiment was successful hence I am writing this post…. hehe 😀

With minimum ingredients and easy recipe, I guarantee you this dish to be flavourful, tangy and yummy.

Ingredients:

Thin cube slices of yam (approximately 200 grams)

I.  For Boiling

2 tablespoon Tamarind Juice

Boiling salty water

II.  For Tempering

2 tablespoons oil

1/2 teaspoon of cumin seeds (optional)

2 teaspoons red chilli powder

1 tablespoon lemon juice

Salt to taste

Coriander for garnishing

How it is done:

This recipe is done in two parts. First the slices are boiled in salty tangy water. This is a necessary step as many times the yam has itchy properties. This you may experience even while cleaning the rough skin of yam.

Just mix the tamarind juice and approximately 1 tablespoon salt in boiling water. Then immerse the yam slices and cook for about 5 to 7 minutes. As the slices are thin, they will cook easily.

Afterwards drain the water and put the slices on kitchen towel, so that the extra water is absorbed.

For tempering:

Heat the pan and put oil. Add the cumin seeds, after they crackle add the cooked yam slices. Toss well in oil. Put red chilli powder. Season the yams with a pinch or two of salt. Cook in an open pan on low flame for 5 to 8 minutes. Finish off the dish with lemon juice and garnish with coriander.

Serve hot!!

As promised, every bite of this dish is full of flavours. Try my style of yam and do let me know your experience & comments.

2 thoughts on “Yam / Elephant Foot in Indian Style!!!

  1. Sounds intriguing and delicious! When I saw “elephant foot” in your title, I had to read the post. I can’t think of two words more likely to generate reader curiosity!! : )

Leave a Reply

