Easy Gun Powder / Idli Podi Recipe

gun powder recipe, idli podi recipe, mulgai podi recipe

Gun Powder / Idli Podi / Mulgai podi

It has been a while since I blogged. So today I made a promise with myself that I will post a recipe which my office colleague has been asking me for quite sometime now. That recipe is my easy peasy Idli Podi or famously known as gun powder recipe. My Idli Podi recipe is very unique as it’s simple and easy to make with just four ingredients.

Gun powder has a distinct name and that name is derived from the chillies and the spicy nature of this chutney. It is a dry powder chutney which is added to Ghee or oil and spread on Idlis or Dosas. Traditionally, the podi has made ingredients like dry coconut, tamarind, sesame seeds and others. There are even various versions where people add peanuts.

Well, my idli podi recipe is far from traditional. Infact, it is one of my experiments of which I am very proud of. It has been liked by all.  Plus it tastes like the one which I ate in a famous humble South Indian restaurant in Central Matunga, Mumbai. Ohhh… and did I tell you earlier… I love South Indian Cuisine, especilally, the Idlis, Dosas, Sambhar, Rasam and Chutneys.

Coming back before I start drooling more, let’s focus on the recipe. My recipe has four ingredients. I could have added more, but believe me I did not have all the ingredients. That has never stopped me from preparing a recipe if I set my  mind. Plus my whole experimentation on food always revolves around something which is tasty as well as easy to make. Also this recipe is best for people who want to make a small batch. If you want to make a bigger batch, just double/triple the measures. So lets get started..

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons chana dal (half split bengal gram)

4 tablespoons urad dal (half split black gram)

11 red chillies (I used Guntur variety, but you can use any. Adjust to taste)

1/2 teaspoon salt

How is it done:

Dry roast all the ingredients separately on a medium heat. Let them cool down. Now grind. Didn’t I tell you it is gonna be easy???

Chana dal, gun powder recipe, idli podi recipe, mulgai podi recipe

Before and after chana dal

Urad dal, gun powder recipe, idli podi recipe, mulgai podi recipe

Before and After Urad dal

Tips:

  1. Don’t roast on high heat. It will ruin the flavour.
  2. While roasting try to achive a golden brown colour.
  3. You can lessen the number of red chillies as per your taste.

Please try & do post your comments and keep experimenting!!

Leave a Reply

